• Tour de France.

  • Tour de France.

  • Tour de France.

  • Tour de France.

Information Tour de France

Stages of the Tour de France

  • 7 flat stages
  • 5 hilly stages
  • 7 mountain stages and 5 mountain-top finishes (La Planche des Belles Filles, Tourmalet, Foix Prat d’Albis, Tignes, Val Thorens)
  • 1 individual time-trial stage
  • 1 team time-trial stage
  • 2 rest days

The 2019 Tour will go through two countries, Belgium and France. It will visit the three Belgian regions (Bruxelles-Capitale, Flanders and Wallonia) and 37 departments of France.

Just like in 2018, there are two time-trials on the menu:

Bruxelles Palais Royal > Brussel Atomium

The time-trial per team for stage 2 during 27 km promises to be an exciting one.


Stage 13 is an idividual stage with a distance of 27kms. It’ll be on Friday the 19th of July, a date that marks the 100th anniversary of the Yellow Jersey.

It’ll be the third time that a finish is set at the top of the Pyrenean mountain after 1974 (victory of Jean-Pierre Danguillaume) and 2010 (victory of Andy Schleck). The Tourmalet is also to date the mountain that has been climbed the most in the history of the Tour: 82 times.

At an altitude of 2 770 metres the col de l’Iseran, that hasn’t been climbed for twelve years, will be the summit of the 2019 Tour. It will be climbed for the 8th time.

What’s new?

There will be 3 stage cities or sites (of a total of 34 stages) who will be visited for the first time:

  • Binche (start of stage 3)
  • Saint-Dié-des-Vosges (start of stage 5)
  • Pont du Gard (start of stage 17)
  • In Foix (Stage 15), the finish will be set at the summit of Prat d’Albis (1 205 m).

Bonuses of the tour de France

Bonus seconds
They will be distributed at the finish of each normal stage and will offer respectively 10, 6 and 4 seconds to the first three.

Bonus points
It was an innovation on the last Tour de France: bonus-point sprints will be reintroduced in 2019. Bonus seconds will be awarded at the top of the 8 following hills or mountains at key places of the course:

Stage 3: côte de Mutigny
Stage 6: col des Chevrères
Stage 8: côte de la Jaillière
Stage 9: côte de Saint-Just
Stage 12: Hourquette d’Ancizan
Stage 15: Mur de Péguère
Stage 18: col du Galibier
Stage 19: col de l’Iseran

It will have no influence on the points classification.

Further information tour de France

Facebook: www.facebook.com/letour
Instagram: www.instagram.com/letourdefrance
Twitter: www.twitter.com/LeTour

History of the Tour de France


The story of a champion.

In 2019, for the 106th edition of the Tour de France, Brussels will welcome the famous cycling race for the 11th time …

Celebrating 100 years of the Yellow Jersey.

This will be the second time that the Grand Départ takes place in Brussels: the first was in 1958 …